One Stop Shop


The InvestSA One Stop Shop initiative is geared towards providing investors with services to fast-track projects and reduce government red tape when establishing a business. It is part of the government’s drive to become investor friendly by improving the business environment by lowering the cost of doing business as well as making the process easier.

One Stop Shops house government entities such as the South African Revenue Service (to help with customs and tax), Home Affairs, Environmental Affairs, Eskom and the Companies and Intellectual Properties Commission under one roof.

An investor can make an appointment, meet a government representative and be guided by the representative through the process of setting up a business. The One Stop Shops simply administrative procedures for issuing business approvals, permits and licences and thereby remove bottlenecks that investors may face in establishing and running businesses.

One Stop Shops have been rolled out in Tshwane in Gauteng (National office), Cape Town in the Western Cape and eThekwini in KwaZulu-Natal. Other provinces will open their One Stop Shops over the next three years.


One Stop Shop services

  • InvestSA and strategic provincial partners provide an integrated service to investors that:
  • Intergovernmental coordination and facilitation service​

Facilitates the entire investment value chain;

Provides specialist advisory services to investors;

Coordinates effectively across various line departments;

Communicates all services to current and potential investors;

Acts as the facilitation window of clearance of registration, licensing and permits;

Facilitates the provision of information and support on available investor incentives schemes; and

Coordinates the regulatory reform / roadmap process in South Africa and improve the investment climate.

Company registration and Companies and Intellectual Property Commission (CIPC) services

Business permits and Visa Facilitation Service

Facilitation with Unemployment Insurance Fund and Compensation Fund

Environmental Impact Assessment

Facilitation with the South African Revenue Service (SARS) and Customs

Facilitation with Mining Permits

Facilitation with NRCS , ITAC and SABS

Municipal facilitation

Facilitation with state-owned enterprises

Incentive facilitation

Facilitation with land zoning and transfers

Investment promotion and international investment missions

Provincial One Stop Shops

Western Cape

We are the Official Tourism & Trade, Investment Promotion Agency for Cape Town and the Western Cape. Our divisions include Tourism, Trade, Investment Promotion, Research, Film & Media and the Convention Bureau. We are a region of unlimited potential. And this translates into unlimited opportunity.

KwaZulu Natal

Trade & Investment KwaZulu-Natal (TIKZN)is a South African trade and inward investment promotion agency, established to promote the province of KwaZulu-Natal as an investment destination and to facilitate trade by assisting local companies’ access international markets.


As a Centre, we coordinate business to business match making engagements between local and foreign businesses. The Gauteng Investment Centre is South Africa’s first One-stop Shop (OSS) for international investors and established local businesses where essential government information and services can be accessed from a single platform.​​

Provincial Investment Promotion Agencies

Western Cape
KwaZulu Natal
Eastern Cape
North West
Limpopo Province
Northern Cape
Free State

Participating national government departments and entities

Government departments

Trade and Industry

National Treasury

Economic Development

Small Business Development



Mineral Resources

Public Enterprise

Science and Technology

Water and Sanitation


Environmental Affairs

Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

Rural Development and Land Reform

Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs

Government entities

Business registry- Companies and Intellectual Property Commission (CIPC)

Tax authority – South African Revenue Service (SARS)

International Trade Administration Commission (ITAC)

National Regulator for Compulsory Specifications (NRCS)

Public electricity utility- Eskom

Municipal Infrastructure Support Agent (MISA) 



Visa Facilitation Service

Visa and permit applications can be made at Visa & Permit Facilitation Centres. Applications are then assessed by the Department of Home Affairs in Pretoria. Non-South Africans with a legal residency permit in South Africa can apply for a visa or permit at these centres.

There are centres in: Durban, Cape Town, Port Elizabeth, Johannesburg, Pretoria, Rustenburg, Kimberly, Polokwane, Nelspruit, George, Bloemfontein. For details of the centres go to where to apply.

For details of the different kinds of work visas available go to  work visas.

Note:The South African government is reviewing it critical skills list as well as taking steps to make it easier for people who qualify to apply.

read more